Press "Enter" to skip to content

Zoom Training

Zoom Hosting Classes

Open to all who are doing service to Zoom meetings in Overeaters Anonymous and other 12-step programs.
  

We now offer 8 classes to teach you all the Zoom hosting skills you need to volunteer for service positions, as well as tech support drop-in sessions. You may attend more than once. Registration is required for all classes except the Tech Support Drop-in. Zoom admins and account owners should check out our new class just for them!

 

Questions? Send email to Ellen at zoom@oasandiego.org.
 

Upcoming Classes

Tech Support Drop-In

Hosts and co-hosts: Bring your questions or practice your hosting skills. Our tech experts will be on hand to help. Come anytime during the open hours. No registration is necessary.

 

Sunday, February 5
11 am – 2 pm PT

2 pm – 5 pm ET

 

Saturday, February 25

12 pm – 3 pm PT

3 pm – 6 pm ET 

 

Zoom ID: 835 4605 8235  |  Passcode: 943647

Enter the room

Settings for Admins & Account Owners

There are many settings in your Zoom account portal on the web. This class will cover the default settings and options for Zoom administrators and owners of accounts that host 12-step meetings. Learn how to enable and disable features and how to schedule Zoom meetings taking security and group autonomy into account.

 

Thursday, February 23

6-7 pm PT

9-10 pm ET

Register

Hosting Basics

This 1-hour training is for new hosts and co-hosts or for those who would like to review their hosting skills. Topics covered include starting and ending meetings, claiming host, making co-hosts, Zoom settings for your room, sharing your screen, and managing participants. It is strongly recommended you take the Zoom Security class next.

 

Wednesday, February 1
6-7 pm PT
9-10 pm ET

Register

 

Zoom Security

This 1-hour class will cover best practices and Zoom settings to minimize disruption, how to remove individual disrupters, and what to do if your meeting is targeted for a coordinated attack (aka Zoom bombers).

 

Thursday, February 2

6-7 pm PT

9-10 pm ET

Register

Zoom Tips & Tricks

Learn tips and tricks for moving your hosting skills to the next level in this 1-hour class. Prerequisite: Zoom Basic Hosting or hosting experience. 

 

Monday, February 6

5-6 pm PT

8-9 pm ET

Register

Screen Sharing Basics

This 1-hour training is for hosts and co-hosts or for those who would like to learn how to share their screen in a Zoom meeting. The class allows time to practice the skill. NOTE: For computer users only (not mobile devices).

 

Saturday, February 11

2-3 pm PT

5-6 pm ET

Register

Advanced Screen Sharing

This 1-hour class covers the advanced screen sharing features in Zoom: Sharing into Breakout Rooms, Whiteboard Sharing, Powerpoint as a Virtual Background, and sharing sound and video. We’ll also cover how to view participants while screen sharing. Prerequisite: Screen Sharing Basics or equivalent experience.

 

Sunday, February 12
2-3 pm PT
5-6 pm ET
Register

Breakout Rooms

Learn how to create and manage Breakout Rooms in your Zoom meeting. Breakout Rooms can be a good option for larger meetings to enable more intimate shares and for different topics in workshops, conventions, etc. Learn all the options available in this 1-hour training for hosts and co-hosts.

 

Friday, February 17
3-4 pm PT
6-7 pm ET
Register

BlueSky Timer

OA San Diego meetings have access to use this cool on-screen timer in your meetings. It’s pretty easy to use, and you don’t need any special equipment — a computer, tablet, or smartphone of any type will work.

 

Monday, February 20

4-5 pm PT

7-8 pm ET

Register

>> Class Handouts